Meditation After Surgery

April 17, 2010 at 1:44 pm (Benefits of Meditation, Why do we meditate?)

Real Life Meditation Applications

I just had surgery on Thursday. I had my ear operated on and had a procedure called a Laser Stapedotomy. The purpose is to help repair my severe loss of hearing. As I noted in my last post, this is something that I have had for a long time.

The procedure went well, and I came home before noon on Thursday. I was supposed to rest until Friday morning, and then resume activities very gradually. Generally, a person experiences loss of balance, nausea and several other side effects for a few days and then diminishing over a couple of weeks.

I began meditation while waiting for the anethetic to take effect. The nurse asked me about it and I explained what I was doing. During the procedure, I was somewhat aware of the happenings, even thoough I was under anesthesia. I had enough awareness to continue with the focus of the meditation, which was the cooperation of my body with the procedure and rapid healing.

I resumed full meditation as soon as I returned to awareness after the procedure. I did experience some balance issues for a few hours, but I was able to walk and take care of all my needs immediately, which is unusual, as I understand the procedure.

After getting home, I took a nap for 3 hours, and then by 3 pm I was able to get up and resume most of the activities I wanted to around the house and on the computer. 

I was even able to go to a 2 hour choir rehearsal. I am in a professional choir in the Phoenix area with a demanding rehearsal schedule. I was able to rehearse and concentrate without difficulty.

On Friday, I got up at 8am which is much later than normal, (I usually get up at 5am) but for the most part, I was able to do everything I needed to do on Friday, and I did not need any extra rest during the day.

Today is Saturday, and I have been able to resume some exercise and my normal routine. My hearing is improving, the balance issues are gone, and I feel fantastic. I have needed very little of the pain meditcation that was given to me afterwards, and have mostly just taken ibuprofen.

I know that the meditation that I did before, during and since the procedure played a substantial role in this dramatically accelerated healing process.

I am sharing this with you because it is a real life example of the benefits of meditation with respect to health and wellness.

I would invite you to learn to meditate. The benefits are limited only by your own effort and your imagination.

Leave a Reply

