Meditation and TANSTAAFL

July 6, 2010 at 5:51 pm (Benefits of Meditation, Why do we meditate?)

What is TANSTAAFL?

For this blog post, I have chosen this funny but true acronym as a starting point. This long acronym stands for ‘There Ain’t No Such Thing As A Free Lunch.’ Your first thought may be “What does that have to do with Meditation?’

The answer is easy. It has a lot to do with meditation. Like everything in our lives, particularly the best things, meditation takes our own effort and involvement to get it done.

We live in a ‘gimme a zip file, I’ll download it and look at it later while I’m watching tv’ kind of world. We expect everything to be compressed, fast, downloadable and take no time.

The truth about many good things is actually almost the opposite. Most good things take some time to develop. If you want to be great at a sport, you know how much effort that takes, expecially as we watch the world cup, the NBA finals, the tour de France or any other high powered sports event.

If I want a great song working in the studio, it takes planning, often dozens of takes and even after that perfect performance, you must make the song a complete package or that one great keyboard solo is interesting, but that’s about it.

If you want a deep and meaningful relationship with someone, then more than just casual attention is the ticket price for such a highly prized outcome.

If you want a major account to close and select you as the account manager, then time and effort spent with the client is the name of the game.

How Does That Work?

We all know that this is true, yet perhaps we don’t know how to get the most from our efforts. This is where the practice of meditation really shines. We all have only 24 hours in a day, but when I regularly meditate, all my days are better, more focused, I get more done, I forget less, I seem to know how to make people respond better, I seem to know what will make someone happy and the list goes on and on.

Regular meditation amps up my mental and physical capacity in a way that I can’t describe and certainly can’t ignore. I have repeatedly seen the effort I put into the meditation pay triple dividends in the achievement of outcomes in every area of my endeavors.

The books that you will find on the website give dozens of real life examples of how this works. Check them out!

I not only get my lunch, I get the dessert too.

Leave a Reply

